Skip to main content

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Collaborative


Along with Georgia Southern University, the College of Science and Mathematics (COSM) celebrates diversity in all its forms. All populations will feel valued and respected, regardless of race, gender, ethnicity, religion, national origin, age, sexual orientation or identity, education, or disability. In addition, the University will capitalize on distinctive, unique campus cultures while encouraging strong institutional unity. COSM aims for its people, communities, and disciplines to be diverse and inclusive to ensure vitality as an institution of higher education. We aim to meet the following objectives:

  • Recruit, retain, and graduate a diverse graduate and undergraduate student body. 
  • Recruit and retain a diverse faculty, staff, and administration that is committed to diversity and inclusive excellence.  
  • Support and develop community engagement and relationships focused on inclusion. 

DEI Collaborative Newsletter


Co-Leaders: Karelle Aiken, Sabrina Hessinger, Brandon Quillian, Brigette Brinton

Administration: Brian Koehler

Staff: Amanda Klingel

Biology: Sara Gremillion

Chemistry & Biochemistry: James Carter

Geology & Geography: Kathlyn Smith 

Mathematics: Jim Brawner

Physics & Astronomy: Hua-Jian Jason Liu

Demographics and Data

If other types of data on COSM students or faculty are needed, contact a COSM Assistant/Associate Dean or GS Institutional Research.


Inclusive Teaching & Resources

Work with our University partners to grow a culture of inclusive excellence in our college by providing opportunities and a safe-space to address themes and issues of inclusion; maintain an up-to-date list of Student Support Resources; provide trainings and resources for COSM students, staff and faculty; and provide access to evaluations tools that can be used to periodically assess COSM’s progress in this important effort.

Contact: Karelle Aiken

Diversity & Inclusion Strategic Plan

Work with members of the college to develop guidelines for the implementation of COSM policies and procedures that reflect, sustain and promote a culture of inclusive excellence throughout the college.

Contact: Sara Gremillion 

Promotion, Tenure, Teaching, & Workload Documentation

Institutional DEI Groups


Georgia Southern University

Sites, Articles, Talks

Food Pantries

Need something? We are here for you! Helps yourself to anything in the pantries.

  1. Armstrong campus: 1st floor of Science Center, alcove near SC 1001
  2. Statesboro campus: 1st floor by stairs of Chemistry/Nursing Building near the Gus Mart
  3. Statesboro campus: Biological Science building, 2nd floor, past the restrooms (Rm 2276) in the student quiet area.


Last updated: 3/3/2022