Skip to main content

Chemistry Students Awarded at NOBCChE Conference

Abstract Awardees CEMITURE

Abstract awardees from CEMITURE program (from L to R): Jaclyn Gibson (East Georgia State College); Ashley Williams (Georgia Southern University); Jennifer Jenkins (Coastal College of Georgia).

Students representing the CEMITURE REU Program (Summer 2015), in the Department of Chemistry at Georgia Southern University, were recognized for having the top 7 abstracts at the NOBCChE Conference in Orlando, Florida (Sept 22-24, 2015). Students in attendance: Ashley Williams (Vinoth Sittaramane, PhD), Jennifer Jenkins (Abid Shaikh, PhD) and Jaclyn Gibson (Karelle Aiken, PhD and Shainaz Landge, PhD).  Both Ashley and Jennifer were awarded for having the top two posters. Ashley Williams also received the Biophysical best poster award competing against the 150 graduate and undergraduate students presenting their work at the NOBCChE Conference. The Department of Chemistry and the College of Science and Mathematics are extremely proud of their accomplishment.




NOBCChE Presenters & Faculty

NOBCChE presenters and faculty: (Top row L to R): Liam Cavanaugh, Jaclyn Gibson, Christian Lyle (CEMITURE, Savannah State University), Dr. Shainaz Landge, Omowumni Fakorede, Dr. Ria Ramoutar, Dr. W. Eric Gato, Jennifer Jenkins, Rachel Barham (CEMITURE, Erskine College), Ashley Williams, and Dr. Karelle Aiken. Bottom (L to R): Christopher Mays, Daniel Hunter and Austin Atkinson.

Two other CEMITURE participants attending the NOBCChE conference were Christain Lyle (Dr. Hans Schanz) and Rachel Barham (Evans Afriyie-Gyawu, PhD). Five Georgia Southern students from the Chemistry Department also presented their research at the conference. Daniel Hunter (W. Eric Gato, PhD), gave an oral presentation, while Liam Cavanaugh, Christopher Mays and Omowunmi Fakorede, also from the Gato group, gave poster presentations. Austin Atkinson (Drs. Landge/Aiken) also presented a poster. All 10 students received the Advancing Science Travel Grant and performed extremely well.  Also awarded the travel grant but unable to attend from the CEMITURE program were Michael Bachan (Drs. Amanda Stewart/ Rafael Quirino) and Alexandria Carrasquillo (Dr. Ji Wu). Everyone at the conference was impressed by the strong representation and talent from Georgia Southern.


Posted in student highlights