Skip to main content

Alumnus of the Year

The Alumnus of the Year program recognizes alumni/ae who have made a significant contribution to human or institutional progress in which a situation, institution, or movement has been materially changed for the better because of that individual’s participation. This award recognizes the achievements of outstanding alumni/ae whose personal life, professional accomplishments, and community service best exemplify the mission of Georgia Southern University.

Criteria for Choosing Alumnus of the Year

  1. An Alumnus of the Year committee shall be formed, consisting of at least three members appointed by the Dean of the College of Science and Mathematics.
  2. Nominees must have been regularly enrolled as a student at least ten or more years ago in a program of study which is currently administratively housed in the College of Science and Mathematics. All candidates must be alumni/ae of Georgia Southern University, having been regularly enrolled as an undergraduate or graduate student for at least one semester, or its equivalent, as a member of a class which graduated. Graduation from Georgia Southern is not mandatory.
  3. The format for submitting nominations will be prescribed by the Dean.
  4. Nominations will be made by alumni, faculty, staff, students, or friends of Georgia Southern.

Upcoming Events

Please join The College of Science and Mathematics (COSM) for their first Dean’s Distinguished Alumni Series.

Date: September 16, 2022

Location: Armstrong Campus, Student Union, Ogeechee Theater

Time: 2:45-4:00 pm

For those who are not able to join us, the event will be live streamed. Link below.…

Distinguished Alumni

  • Dr. Louvenia A. Rainge, 2017
  • Dr. David A. Woodrum, 2015
  • Ronny Just, 2013
  • Pamela Capwell Watkins, 2012
  • Award Not Presented, 2011
  • Jeffrey S. Jernigan, 2010
  • Thomas H. Hopkins, Jr., 2009
  • James Becton, MD, 2008
  • Stephen F. Gay, 2007
  • Dr. Stuart Rudikoff, 2006
  • Dr. Kara Martin, 2005
  • Dr. Steffen H. Rogers, 2004
  • Dr. Richard L. Osburn, 2003
  • Thomas Troutman, 2002
  • Hugh E. Darley, Jr., 2001
  • Dr. Arthur Sparks, 2000
  • Dr. James. H. Oliver, 1999
  • Dr. Richard C. Starr, 1998
  • Dr. Karl Peace, 1997
  • Award Not Presented, 1996
  • Award Not Presented, 1995
  • Robert C. “Bob” Bills, 1994
  • Cliff Kennedy, 1993
  • Terry Miller, 1992
  • Kenneth Talley, Jr., 1991
  • Hugh E. Darley, Jr., 1990
  • John R. Roach, 1989

Last updated: 9/2/2022